Come enjoy some "Coffee, Tea & History," shop for locally crafted
goods, and tour the Durham Apothecary & Museum that inspired The
History of The Durham Apothecary
The Durham Doctor's Office/Apothecary is a unique structure and considered the
"crown jewel" of the Durham property in Maxeys, Georgia. Architectural features
date the building to around 1840. The Victorian porch was added in 1877.
first room is striking and merits the name "apothecary" because of the large
green and yellow compounding desk, the curved, horseshoe-shaped walls and
graduated, curved, green-trimmed, floor-to-ceiling shelving.
The 8'x16' middle room was reported to have been the "doctor's office" where
people were seen and treatment was administered. In this room and the back room,
the color palate is old soldier blue and chestnut. It is now the service area
for coffee, tea and treats.
The 16x16' spacious back room was considered the "waiting room" for patients.
For a period of time, it was the bachelor's quarters for Dr. Samuel Davis Durham
and his brother, William Orlando Durham. At present it is the dining and meeting
space for visitors.
It is known that five Durham doctors practiced from this small, quaint building, while one additional Durham doctor was born and raised in the Durham home.
Freshly Ground News
Pictured left to right, above: Dennis Short, Gisela Gresham, Tom Gresham, Faye Short
Pictured left to right, below: Mary Cook, Stephanie Cherry-Farmer, Dennis Short, Faye Short, Lynn Speno
Hours of Service:
Thursday - Saturday
8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
261 North Main Street